top of page

What Inspired Us!

I am constantly searching and observing for things that inspire me. Us creative types sometimes have a different way of looking at things. Sometimes a leaf on the ground is not just a leaf on the ground. It might be a color scheme that you want to recreate or a texture that you want to achieve. In my case those things mostly inspire a piece of clothing. Much to my family’s dismay I am always in research mode. I am constantly looking through magazines, reading blogs (anything from weddings, to costumes, to sewing), and (the biggest time sucker) Pinterest! I am frequently on other clothing label’s websites…looking at their new collections or their Instagram feeds with the latest candid photos. It really can be a sickness…it has to be my Capricorn nature! It is my greatest strength and my greatest weakness.

So before Beane and Company’s new collection is out, I am already researching and gathering ideas for the next season. I always start with a few inspiration boards. One to keep me focused. When the creative juices are flowing it is very easy to stray. I then end up with a season’s collection with no rhyme or reason. I also make the boards based on research and what the trends are. I take a lot of feedback based on what brides are ordering and requesting. I have learned over the years that the wedding industry is typically ahead of the fashion industry with color and fabric trends. I know it seems like it would be the other way around. The largest part of it for me, as it is for most designers, is gut instinct. I take the research and combine it with what my gut and creative mind tells me is right…and hope for the best. With a little luck you will have a piece or two that catches on.

Here are my inspiration boards for this season, what I started with way back in the beginning of 2015 when I was planning the 2016 collections.

My themes may seem a little off the wall, but my colors of choice this year were green and white.

I was also very drawn to pink and/or mint with gold.

This season I was very consumed with textures, hard vs. soft, shiny vs. dull. This board also inspired a blush and charcoal color thread, but you will see the hard vs. soft texture threaded throughout my boards.

I was also very into circles and circular patterns like polka dots and keyhole backs on dresses, circular lace patterns etc.

I was really drawn towards a nautical theme…that I think will continue from season to season. I leaned toward the green and navy nautical.

So there you have it! These are the things that inspired us, the images I constantly referred back to during the creation process. I am very proud of what Melissa and I have created this season. Our goals were to add some separates and outer wear so that we could give people the ability to make a complete look. We set our goal to be versatile for all occasions and I feel we have succeeded!

We are officially on to next season. I have already begun making boards! Here are a some sneak peeks for what we are planning for next season. Enjoy and stay tuned to see what makes the cut!

Jenna


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page